Knowledge Is Not Enough, Action Is Needed

“All worthwhile men have good thoughts, good ideas, and good intentions, but precious few ever translate those into action.” Tim Marks

The nature of the business I am involved with gives me opportunities to visit with people in their homes and learn of their dreams, struggles, hopes, frustrations, and thinking. One discovery I have made is much like the quote by Tim Marks. As people share their feelings, thoughts, and perspectives, I realize how true that statement is. There are no shortages of ideas in the world. Talk to most people, and be willing to listen, and you will learn all kinds of solutions to the world’s problems. Prior to LIFE, I was like so many of the people I meet, all talk and no action. We truly are a society of proverbial arm-chair quarterbacks. Even in cases where people are educating themselves, they often lack the vehicle and the resolve to apply what they learn in their own lives.

We have all heard the phrase, “knowledge is power.” I don’t necessarily believe that. Knowledge has the potential to be powerful, but it must be applied. I may have the knowledge of a power outlet which I may plug an appliance into, but until I apply that knowledge I have not accessed the power to cause that appliance to work. I believe knowledge is the same way. The book of James chapter 1 verse 22 says it this way. “But be doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving yourselves.” It is not enough to learn, we must apply. It is not enough to have knowledge, we must do. It is not enough to have good thoughts, intentions, and ideas, we must translate them into action. If we become perpetual hearers only we fall into the worst of states, self-deceived.

So let us not be named among those that are all talk and no action. Take the knowledge you have and begin to implement it in a way that will affect positive change in your life and the lives around you. If you do not have a vehicle to do so, I invite you to join LIFE (www.the-life-business.com). If you do, then do so with character, ambition, and humility. Just remember, knowledge is not enough, action is needed.

About Bryan Vashus

I am passionate about living a life of purpose. There is a purpose in being a husband, a father, a leader, and a person. I live in such a way as to fulfill the purpose in each area of my life. I have an amazing wife, Courtnee, who shares in this pursuit with me, two children, Hannah and Joshua, who bring immeasurable amounts of joy to my life, and two dogs, and two cats. My family is united together in building our LIFE Leadership business and ultimately reaching people with the grace and love of God everywhere we go.
Aside | This entry was posted in with hope to inspire. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

