Reflection: Dream, Struggle, Victory

I don’t know why I don’t go for morning walks more often. For when I do, I seem to often gain new perspectives about my life and life in general. The other morning while walking my dogs, I was reflecting on where I am at in my life. One word that defines it is struggle.

We have a common phrase we use in our business called “Dream. Struggle. Victory.” All great victories through the ages were achieved after immense struggles, and those struggles were overcome, because there was first a great dream.

We often hear people speak of their struggles in life and will use phrases such as, “That’s life,” “It is what it is,” “Nobody said life was fair,” and many others. What I realized the other day while taking that morning walk is that too many times in my life I’ve gone through struggles not knowing what is was I was struggling for, and not even certain as to what victory would look like if I achieved it. I mean, I floundered around in some situation, not even sure how I got there, and hoped it would some day go away long enough to experience some level of joy until the next thing came along. For all I know, I may have overcome one struggle only to end up in another. Basically, I was just bouncing around in life. Not knowing what I was struggling for basically guaranteed that all I would do in life is struggle. Sound familiar?

Life brings struggles regardless of who we are, where we live, and how we live. But if we do not have a “why” for which we are living; one that propels us towards a defined victory, it just seems we live perpetually within the phase of struggle. Who are the ones that experience success in life? From what I have read and have learned from successful people I know, they seem to have this in common: they know what they want out of life. They have a dream. Once they have that defined, they then follow in the steps of those that already paved the way to success, more or less guaranteeing their victory.

So, my charge to those that may read this (as it is a charge to myself) is to define what it is you want out of  your life. What do you want to be remembered for. When people speak of you at your funeral, what do you want them to say? What is your dream? Once you know that, find someone with success as you would define it, learn from them, and endure the struggles that will inevitably come. Be teachable. Be willing to adjust, learn, and change in order to achieve your victory. And ultimately, enjoy the journey. For I believe, and I’ll write of it when it comes, once the victory is attained, it is the struggle that ultimately causes the victory to be so sweet.

About Bryan Vashus

I am passionate about living a life of purpose. There is a purpose in being a husband, a father, a leader, and a person. I live in such a way as to fulfill the purpose in each area of my life. I have an amazing wife, Courtnee, who shares in this pursuit with me, two children, Hannah and Joshua, who bring immeasurable amounts of joy to my life, and two dogs, and two cats. My family is united together in building our LIFE Leadership business and ultimately reaching people with the grace and love of God everywhere we go.
This entry was posted in with hope to inspire. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

