Working Hard or Leaving a Legacy?

Talk to people today and you will find that it doesn’t take long to discover that people are busy. People are busy with their jobs, busy with their families, busy with hobbies, busy with church or charity, busy with TV, busy with trying to find something to be busy about. Some people’s busy-ness seems justified and some seems futile. It’s almost a subconscious badge of honor people wear, as if to say, “I’m busy therefore I must be important and doing things which make me feel better about myself.”

So as I thought about the idea of people being busy, I wonder how many of them are actually working hard as well; because being busy and working hard are not necessarily the same thing. I could keep busy perusing Facebook while at work, but that obviously would not be considered working hard. And out of the numbers of people who are not only busy but also working hard, how many of those hard-working people are actually setting themselves up to leave a legacy? I believe there are a lot of hard-working people in our society, yet they have nothing to show for it. And I am certain there have been millions of hard-working people who are long forgotten.

My grandfather was a hard worker. He worked in gold mines when he was younger. He started up businesses and even tried his hand at inventing some products. From all the stories that I have learned, he was an entrepreneur at heart. He often came close to success with some of his businesses and ideas only to have them fall apart. His story is not one of success, but of broken dreams and a fairly lonely ending. I have some fond memories, but honestly, I don’t have a much to pass on to my children. I don’t imagine it will be many generations before he is forgotten (unless I change that), just as I have no knowledge of my great-grandfather.

I’m not sure if I am wording this clearly, but personally, I don’t want to work hard my entire life and have little to show for it when I am gone. I want to leave a legacy. I don’t want to be forgotten two or three generations later. I want to leave a mark on this world that echoes through the ages. I want books to be written about me. Why? So I can somehow feed my ego? No, I’ll be dead. I want to make a difference. I want people’s lives to be changed. I want to pass on to my children and friends in my life the character, skills, and knowledge to have a positive impact on this world.

So to all the hard workers and people who want to make a difference, do you know why you are working hard? Are you seeing results that go beyond just earning a paycheck? Are you impacting the lives of people? Are you acquiring knowledge to help you gain better results? Who are you emulating? Are you following in the steps of successful people? Are you working smart as well as hard? Will you be remembered three generations from now? Will you leave a legacy? I certainly want to. I hope that you do too.

About Bryan Vashus

I am passionate about living a life of purpose. There is a purpose in being a husband, a father, a leader, and a person. I live in such a way as to fulfill the purpose in each area of my life. I have an amazing wife, Courtnee, who shares in this pursuit with me, two children, Hannah and Joshua, who bring immeasurable amounts of joy to my life, and two dogs, and two cats. My family is united together in building our LIFE Leadership business and ultimately reaching people with the grace and love of God everywhere we go.
This entry was posted in with hope to inspire. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

