Perspective

Sometimes in life we simply need a good does of perspective to reframe our thinking. I recently visited someone who is battling a rare form of kidney cancer. The purpose of my visit was to pray with him and hopefully strengthen and encourage him in what may prove to be the greatest fight of his life. Yet when I left his apartment, I too was strengthened and encouraged.

This was the very first time I met him. I really was not sure what to expect, but I knew he had reached out for help, and I was available to see him. We talked for two hours. He shared his journey of faith, love of music, struggles, and truly poured out his heart to me. He is obviously battling fear and questions of “why”, but also has a childlike faith and trust in God that is incredibly refreshing.

He shared how he wants to grow in faith that he might reach out and help people. His focus was so much on others that I could have easily forgotten that this young man was in stage 4 of this disease. He certainly was not wallowing in self-pity. Here was a man full of life. Here was a man full of vision for the future. Here was a man with hope.

How much more should I have hope and vision for the future. We’ve probably read similar stories, but it is good to remind ourselves. The struggles most of us deal with on a daily basis are miniscule compared to what others deal with. Let’s not forget all God’s benefits and blessings. Let’s not lose sight of the good things in our lives such as family, friends, health, a roof over our heads, food to eat; you fill in the blank. Yes, we will have our struggles, but a good dose of perspective will help keep us moving forward towards victory.

About Bryan Vashus

I am passionate about living a life of purpose. There is a purpose in being a husband, a father, a leader, and a person. I live in such a way as to fulfill the purpose in each area of my life. I have an amazing wife, Courtnee, who shares in this pursuit with me, two children, Hannah and Joshua, who bring immeasurable amounts of joy to my life, and two dogs, and two cats. My family is united together in building our LIFE Leadership business and ultimately reaching people with the grace and love of God everywhere we go.
This entry was posted in with hope to inspire. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

