No Time To Lose

I have been rattling around in my head the included images in this post for a few weeks. I was doing some handyman work on someone’s property when I came across these scenes, and they had a profound impact on me. I just haven’t been able to put into words what I felt when I saw them. I’ve always been one that has tried to heed the advice of those that say, “Enjoy every minute with your kids, because they grow up really fast.” I’m certainly not perfect in living up to those words, but it certainly remains in the forefront of my thinking.

So when I saw these sites, my imagination began visualizing my children as those that had played with these toys now being grown up, and my heart sank. The moments that my children will be around to play and be kids won’t last forever. A day will come when they will no longer be interested in their current toys. The day will come when they won’t be excited when I come home with shouts of “Daddy,” even after being gone for 20 minutes running an errand.

Then, after perusing Facebook and noticing a number of activities that various people were involved with, I had another thought pop into my mind. “How much time to we spend on things that have no lasting value?” I’m not saying that any of these activities are wrong, and I definitely don’t want to assume that those who get involved with different things are wasting their time. But how many actually even consider the question? How much time do I spend on things that have no lasting value?

I don’t think many people would argue with me in saying that we have some problems in our society. Just try looking online and one will find staggering statistics related to divorce, fatherless homes, teenage pregnancy, teenage drug and alcohol abuse, and the list goes on. How many people are investing their spare time trying to be winners in their local sports league? What if we as a culture invested our time not only to win the local softball league, or in my case, the local co-ed soccer league, but invested our time in winning something of greater value? What if we invested time in winning as a father or a husband? What would it be like to win in our faith life? Imagine life with a winning marriage. And imagine the impact it would have on our children, neighbors, friends, and co-workers. 

Time is short. Let’s not get to the end of our lives and look back on them and wonder if we did anything of lasting value. Let’s be wise men and women right now and begin to invest our time into things that will produce fruit even after we have stepped over into eternity. I certainly don’t want to look at my children’s toys and wish I had spent more time with my daughter and son. I certainly don’t want to meet my Lord and Savior face to face and have Him show me how much I missed out on because I didn’t seek Him with all my heart, soul, and strength. We can do it. We need to do it. There really is no time to lose.

.

About Bryan Vashus

I am passionate about living a life of purpose. There is a purpose in being a husband, a father, a leader, and a person. I live in such a way as to fulfill the purpose in each area of my life. I have an amazing wife, Courtnee, who shares in this pursuit with me, two children, Hannah and Joshua, who bring immeasurable amounts of joy to my life, and two dogs, and two cats. My family is united together in building our LIFE Leadership business and ultimately reaching people with the grace and love of God everywhere we go.
Gallery | This entry was posted in with hope to inspire. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

