Talent Is Not Enough

When I started my blogging adventure, part of my purpose for writing was to chart, so to speak, my journey in the LIFE business. Some may suggest this to be a bad idea since they may expect my business venture to end in failure, but I know something they don’t know (perhaps I’ll share that at another time).

So as I was evaluating my performance one day as a LIFE builder, I came to grips with some brutal reality. But let me first share some personal insights. I have coached wrestling, soccer, girl’s fast pitch softball, basketball, and football. One of the most frustrating things a coach has to deal with, especially if coaching in a competitive environment, is to have an athlete with tons of potential, natural ability, talent, and instincts, yet no real work ethic or desire to maximize that talent.

I know of former players that had all the ability to move on to the college level, but they couldn’t stay focused, got distracted, and now no longer even play for their local high school team. Some simply didn’t have the mental toughness to endure the hard work. Then there were the really frustrating players. These were the athletes that made it through the season, but never fully pushed themselves to be the best. They got by on natural talent to a point, but didn’t go above and beyond ultimately helping the team become better.

These are the most frustrating for me as a coach. If only they would rise up and take the lead and demonstrate that talent alone is not enough. If they would see further into the future and realize that by developing a strong work ethic, a never quit attitude, and a vision for success at the highest level, the entire team would most likely follow suit.  Everyone knows who has the most talent. It’s easy to see who is naturally gifted. But it is also easy to see who puts in the effort. Hard work does not go unnoticed by teammates.

When a player has tremendous natural ability and a high work ethic, amazing things can happen. Yet, too often, it is the one who has less natural talent but has developed the work ethic to overcome those shortcomings that goes on to greatness. As the saying goes, “hard work beats talent when talent doesn’t work hard.” So how does this tie into my life and building a business?

There are many facets to the LIFE business, but two incredibly important aspects are work ethic and leadership. First and foremost, it requires work. If one does not put in the work, they simply will not succeed. Secondly, it requires leadership ability. Due to my former employment and my years of volunteer work within a strong leadership based church, I have decent leadership ability. And because of that ability I’ve achieved a small level of success.

What I realized the other day though, was that I am like those frustrating players I’ve had on those past teams I coached. I have coasted a bit on my abilities without putting in the hard work needed to take me to the next level. No more. My children are not getting younger. Time is not standing still. And ultimately, I want to win. I’m a winner.

So this is a public statement of my commitment to put in the hard work to achieve my dreams and the dreams of my teammates. Fortunately, the LIFE business is a leadership factory, so as I continue to learn and grow and then apply what I have learned (put in the hard work) my entire team will benefit from it.

There you have it. I don’t want to be the athlete that doesn’t live up to his potential. I’m ready to move on to higher levels of success, ultimately helping others do the same. And I’ll be sure to write more as we achieve those higher levels of success and achievement in the LIFE business. But for now, I need to quit writing and get back to building.

About Bryan Vashus

I am passionate about living a life of purpose. There is a purpose in being a husband, a father, a leader, and a person. I live in such a way as to fulfill the purpose in each area of my life. I have an amazing wife, Courtnee, who shares in this pursuit with me, two children, Hannah and Joshua, who bring immeasurable amounts of joy to my life, and two dogs, and two cats. My family is united together in building our LIFE Leadership business and ultimately reaching people with the grace and love of God everywhere we go.
This entry was posted in with hope to inspire. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Talent Is Not Enough

  1. Love your commitment! Hard work committed to a plan to achieve a dream that is worth while is the most rewarding thing a man can do. Roll on!

  2. Well said and I am proud of you!

Leave a Reply

