The Thrill of Victory

It is August 2012 and the Olympics are in full strength and many medals have been bestowed on worthy champions and competitors. I love the Olympics, and at one time had my own aspirations to compete at that level (why I didn’t is perhaps another story). As I take in the highlights, the agonies, the defeats, the thrills, and the victories, I remember back to one of my victorious moments.

I have an older brother as you may know from other posts (or knowing me personally). I pretty much idolized my big brother and always wanted to do what he did. One day he came home from school and announced he had tried out for the middle school wrestling team. Well since my brother went out for wrestling, I just had to as well.

Twelve years and over 500 matches later, I won a National championship in Greco-Roman wrestling. I had placed in the top six a number of times in previous years in both Greco-Roman and Freestyle wrestling, but 1989 was my year to stand on top of the national championship podium. It was thrilling. Over a decade of commitment had paid off and it felt good.

It has been twenty-three years since that highlight in my life. I am often amazed at the commitment level I had to the sport of wrestling. I never skipped a practice and never considered quitting during those twelve years. That commitment eventually turned into a love for the sport that kept me competing until 2001. I truly lived “in the zone” when it came to wrestling.

Now that I am involved with the LIFE business, I am once again living “in the zone.” Knowing that my success is 100% up to me (and God of course), is inspiring. I left my job as Recreation Director last August because my family could not live on the income I was making. We prayed, sought council, had a game plan, and stepped out on faith that God was leading us this way.

Since that day, our game plan has had to be adjusted but the goal remains the same. Freedom. Financial freedom, time freedom, and national freedom. I am pursuing God’s plan for my life with a vigor and dedication I have not known except in my wrestling years. I have a world-class coaching staff in Orrin Woodward, Chris Brady, the rest of the policy council, and my mentor Larry Vanbuskirk. I have phenomenal teammates whom I work with closely in building leadership communities. We game plan, execute the plan, check our results, and adjust where necessary just like I did in wrestling.

I remember the satisfaction of winning and becoming a national champion wrestler. It took a lot of hard work and smaller victories along the way. But greater than a national championship, is the satisfaction of winning in life. That is what LIFE is all about. Dream, struggle, victory. We work hard at becoming better spouses, parents, friends, and leaders. We work hard, experience “small” victories along the way, until the day we win our ultimate victory. But it won’t stop,, even after we earn our personal victories. It won’t even stop after LIFE is reaching one million people. As Orrin says, we are a Purpose with a business. Our goal is sure, our methods are proven, our team is world-class, and victory is within our grasp! Oh how I love the thrill of victory.

About Bryan Vashus

I am passionate about living a life of purpose. There is a purpose in being a husband, a father, a leader, and a person. I live in such a way as to fulfill the purpose in each area of my life. I have an amazing wife, Courtnee, who shares in this pursuit with me, two children, Hannah and Joshua, who bring immeasurable amounts of joy to my life, and two dogs, and two cats. My family is united together in building our LIFE Leadership business and ultimately reaching people with the grace and love of God everywhere we go.
This entry was posted in with hope to inspire. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

