To Those Who Support Us

So I was listening to CDs by some leaders in the LIFE business where they were sharing their stories in their own journeys on their way to victory. They were thanking the various people who supported them along the way. They referenced parents, in-laws, friends, their teammates, and others. As I was imagining what their moments were like- the emotions, the memories, the knowledge of what they had to overcome to reach their success, the critics they proved wrong, and everything in between- I started thinking of those Courtnee and I will thank on our “Freedom Day” and beyond.

It’s interesting to me to reflect on this process. I’ve always heard and read stories of people who achieved great things, and when they began the process of chasing their dreams, it polarized the relationships in their lives. Some of their friends and family became their greatest critics. Some of the relationships they thought were close in their lives turned out to be quite shallow. The pursuit of a dream truly revealed who were their real friends, and who were pretenders.

It leads to me think of young David, the future king of Israel. From what we can read, he had no one in his family or from his circle of friends cheering him on as he approached King Saul for permission to defeat Goliath. In fact, the only record we have is of his critics. The only reference David mentions that spurred him on to remove the giant’s head was that of his covenant with the God of Israel (granted, that is one good reference).

So as I ponder this some more, it is my desire that I never be one that diminishes another person’s dream. If my children want to fly to the moon, I want to be a parent that will help create a game plan to make it happen. Jesus says, “All things are possible to them that believe.” When it comes to those I work with directly in the LIFE business or anyone for that matter, whatever their dreams are, I will not be a dream crusher, but a dream builder with them. And in helping them and so many others achieve their dreams, fulfill their God-given purpose, and reach others to do the same, who will we thank along the way for doing the same in our life? And who will I wish had joined us but didn’t?

I could already name some for which I am thankful, of course. But I regret to think of the friends and family members who have passively and even critically watched from the sidelines since the beginning of our journey. I certainly would rather have made this voyage with them. But I also realize those God has brought across our path who will fill the void left by those who did not come along. And for them too, I am thankful. It’s a blessed journey. It’s not without challenges, obstacles, disappointments, and struggles, but the prize is so worth it.

I cannot wait to announce from stage the names of you who have been with us, cheering us on, from the beginning and offer you all of my appreciation and respect. That will be a great moment. I can imagine it now. I’m certain tears will be shed. Smiles will shine. Laughter will fill the atmosphere, and love will abound. So before that moment comes, let me say this even now, “Thank you to those of you who support us!”

About Bryan Vashus

I am passionate about living a life of purpose. There is a purpose in being a husband, a father, a leader, and a person. I live in such a way as to fulfill the purpose in each area of my life. I have an amazing wife, Courtnee, who shares in this pursuit with me, two children, Hannah and Joshua, who bring immeasurable amounts of joy to my life, and two dogs, and two cats. My family is united together in building our LIFE Leadership business and ultimately reaching people with the grace and love of God everywhere we go.
This entry was posted in with hope to inspire. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to To Those Who Support Us

  1. Bryan Vashus says:

    Thanks Cy. You certainly have hit the nail on the head. It’s sad to say, but there are many people that would say it’s good and right to encourage people in their dreams, but when we take a hard look at our society, most people don’t. Thankfully, I’ve found a band of people that absolutely do that. And, of course, I’d love to talk LIFE with you. Be blessed.

  2. Cyrus says:

    So true Bryan. I am reminded of how important support is daily, not just in where we are but how we are able to dream and love with more freedom. I think we underestimate the value of encouragement and support in our daily lives. From my personal experience, I know I wouldn’t be able to do what I am doing, pursuing my dreams without the support of my family who I feel help me better understand God’s love for me. As people created in the image of a God who has plans for us that are filled with hope, and a future, I would love to reintroduce to this concept to culture. How can we encourage and support others in their dreams to make a change instead of constantly being “rational” and “realistic”. Keep doing awesome things, when I get back I want to talk to you about this LIFE stuff, I’ve really enjoyed reading your perspective.

    Blessings to you friend, always!

    Cyrus

Leave a Reply

