Answering The Call

As long as I can remember I’ve always been a person of purpose. I’ve known since I was a young boy that God put me on this planet for a purpose. And that purpose was always one founded in Him.

In 1997 I was in church learning from a powerful minister. During that message I was overcome by the presence of God. It was at that moment I realized the magnitude of the Call upon my life. I can’t say I knew the details of the Call, but I absolutely knew the weight of it. After forty-five minutes of crying and sobbing I was finally able to explain what had just happened to me to my pastor. God revealed to my heart His Call, His plan for my life. I’ve never been the same since.

For ten years I prayed and questioned how this great plan God had for my life would unfold. I left a teaching job at a private Christian school in pursuit of answering the Call. That led me to working part-time for my church, which led to me working at my church’s preschool, which led me into construction work, and finally I took on a job as a recreation director for a small town – after all, I had to pay my bills. But I kept falling on financial problems. I simply did not make enough money (and was a poor manager of money). I still managed to raise support to go on three mission trips to Nepal, Italy, and the Philippines but the Call was bigger.

Perhaps I lacked faith in trusting God to provide, which I know to be true to an extent, but perhaps I also was one whom the scripture in Hosea 4:6 speaks of saying God’s people perish because of a lack of knowledge. I truly believe the latter is more the case. And I believe that is the case for most Americans (more on this later).

So in November 2009 I was introduced to a business that would not only help me financially for the long-term, but would also give me my time back so that I could pursue the Call on my life unhindered by finances and lack of time. I could literally live according to my purpose. But what I did not know at that time was in building the LIFE business, I would be answering the Call on my life.

Every day I wake up excited knowing that my purpose is being lived out and the Call is being answered. Every day I take steps that move me closer to fulfilling God’s plan for my life. Lives are being changed. Marriages are being saved. The curse of poverty is being broken on people’s lives, and people are discovering the Call on their lives as well. It’s surreal.

Last night I was in a home sharing the LIFE information with a group of 18 people. There’s nothing better than seeing hope come back into the eyes of people who didn’t have any. It is so inspiring seeing people pursue their dreams. It’s truly awesome watching men step up and be leaders in their homes and take responsibility for the direction of their family’s lives. How do you put a price tag on that? How do you truly know the impact that this organization will have on our communities, nation, and world?

I love what I am doing. I’m pursuing a dream. I’m answering the Call.

About Bryan Vashus

I am passionate about living a life of purpose. There is a purpose in being a husband, a father, a leader, and a person. I live in such a way as to fulfill the purpose in each area of my life. I have an amazing wife, Courtnee, who shares in this pursuit with me, two children, Hannah and Joshua, who bring immeasurable amounts of joy to my life, and two dogs, and two cats. My family is united together in building our LIFE Leadership business and ultimately reaching people with the grace and love of God everywhere we go.
This entry was posted in with hope to inspire. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

