Leader In Word or Deed

Sometimes I hesitate before writing some of my blogs simply because the moment I write what I have to say, I better be backing it up with action and continue to do so. This blog is no different.

Being involved with North America’s number one leadership development business causes me to be continually fed world-class leadership material. So I am constantly put in remembrance of what it means to be a great leader. But there is one characteristic (among many) of real leadership that has recently been ringing in my ears and coursing through the depths of my being- ACTION.

There is a quote, “I cannot hear what you are saying, because I’m too busy watching what you are doing,” that strikes a chord within me. One of my pet-peeves in life is someone who can talk a big game but never backs it up by action and results. I don’t mind a person that talks a big game, so long as there is sufficient work and results to back up those claims. And in the world of leadership, there can tend to be some big talkers. But, I am not impressed by someone who can rattle off their large dreams, goals, and aspirations, yet sit at home, watch TV, eat bon-bons (what is a bon-bon?), and never actually do anything to reach those dreams, goals, and aspirations (praying about it and not doing anything is no different).

There is no substitute for hard work. For one to succeed one must work hard to achieve it. There are no short cuts. As Orrin Woodward says, “Success is never on sale. It is always full price.” And just because you say you are a leader, does not make it so. In fact, if you say you are a leader and no one is following, you are only out for a walk. I hope you enjoy the scenery.

So to make this short, let me simply ask a question. Are you all talk? Do you have any action to back up your big words? As James 2:18 says, “Show me your faith without your works, and I’ll show you my faith by my works.” What “works” do you have in your life that shout to those watching, “I have strong faith. I am a leader”? If you don’t have any, perhaps it’s time to start getting busy.

About Bryan Vashus

I am passionate about living a life of purpose. There is a purpose in being a husband, a father, a leader, and a person. I live in such a way as to fulfill the purpose in each area of my life. I have an amazing wife, Courtnee, who shares in this pursuit with me, two children, Hannah and Joshua, who bring immeasurable amounts of joy to my life, and two dogs, and two cats. My family is united together in building our LIFE Leadership business and ultimately reaching people with the grace and love of God everywhere we go.
This entry was posted in with hope to inspire. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

