What Are You Doing About It?

Years ago my pastor was reflecting on some tragic events that had happened within our church. Something he said impacted me. Tragedies are occurring all over the world all the time, and we seldom give a thought about them. Yet when they hit close to home they can be very painful.

I have personally known four people in my life that have committed suicide. I also recall friends and family members of people I know who committed suicide as well. So when I recently learned of a thirty-six year old man who had committed suicide, I asked myself a question. “Was there anyone in that man’s life that could have made a difference?”

Do we realize that we may literally be saving lives if (let me re-emphasize that) IF we are providing hope for people? All too often we Americans are so caught up in our own lives, hobbies, and personal pursuits that we forget about what matters most- people.

Yet when I take that thought a little further, how can someone offer another person hope when they have none to give? How does one inspire change in other people if they first are not willing to change? And how can a person change if they are not learning how to change?

We are products of the information we have received and acted upon throughout our lives. And the only way to change is to receive new information. In other words, the only way we can change is to change the way we think. And the only way to help others change is to help them change the way they think.

Here are some questions. So what are you doing to effect change? What are you doing to help? How does your life make a positive difference in the lives of those around you? And perhaps the scariest question, does it make a difference? The saying remains the same. To help others change, we must first change ourselves.

Now for a different line of questions. What are you doing to positively impact the lives of people around you? What difference are you making? How is your existence on this earth benefiting others? And how many people can or will be saved from suicide because they had you in their lives? Don’t wait for tragedy to strike before you start paying attention to those around you. Grab hold of some new and better information, ideally from those with proven results, and get busy effecting change.

About Bryan Vashus

I am passionate about living a life of purpose. There is a purpose in being a husband, a father, a leader, and a person. I live in such a way as to fulfill the purpose in each area of my life. I have an amazing wife, Courtnee, who shares in this pursuit with me, two children, Hannah and Joshua, who bring immeasurable amounts of joy to my life, and two dogs, and two cats. My family is united together in building our LIFE Leadership business and ultimately reaching people with the grace and love of God everywhere we go.
This entry was posted in with hope to inspire. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

