Keep Your Hopes Up

Robert Kiosaki says that we pay our bills 8 am to 5 pm and build wealth 5 pm on into the evening. As I have been “digging a trench and laying pipe” to build my “pipeline” business, I have come home late many times. Some might think I’m being a bad father and husband for not being home more often, but those people have no long-term vision. We (Courtnee, the kids and I) are only a matter of months away from freeing up all those future 8 am to 5 pm hours for the rest of our lives. And because of the freedom those extra hours of life represent I will continue to run the roads night after night. God bless you Courtnee for your support and commitment to do the same!

So as is habit, I quietly walked into my children’s room and prayed over them, watched them, and internally recommitted to them and to myself that I will not slow down until we have become financially independent. I am running at what might seem a frantic pace, but I simply don’t want to put off our Freedom Day longer than I have to. I can taste it. I can see it. I have visualized the day that I will literally never give another care about getting a bill paid on time. I will never again be in debt to anyone ever again. No bank, credit card, or financier will ever own me again. I cannot wait for the day where I will truly be unemployable because my time will be mine to do what God has ordained for me to do. I dream of the day that I can be with my kids during those 8 am to 5 pm hours, as well as, in the evenings if I so desire. My dreams have become my hopes. And my hopes fuel my efforts.

Claude Hamilton speaks with such amazing conviction about hope. He emphatically says, “You better keep your hopes up!” Hope is crucial for anyone to have success in any part of life. I once heard a man in law enforcement say that the scariest person to deal with is a person who has no hope or reason to live. Hope is what keeps us alive. The saying is true, “A man can live about 40 days without food, about 3 days without water, about 8 minutes without air, but not for 1 second without hope!”

What are your hopes? What are your dreams? What motivates you to keep moving forward with your life? I truly hope its more than looking forward to the weekend. What are you passionate about? And how will you feel about those things when lying on your death bed? What are you doing about it now? How will you accomplish all that is in your heart? Do you believe it is possible? Do you listen to those who tear down your dreams or build them up? Do you even care?

If your dreams, hopes, and desires are smaller than the obstacles you encounter in life, you will not overcome your obstacles. But when your dreams, hopes, and desires become more important, more necessary, more real, and larger than your problems and circumstances, then you will figure out how to overcome the obstacles that would prevent you from reaching those dreams.

Dare to hope. Dare to dream again. Dare to believe that you can win. Do not let anyone tear them down. As Claude says, let them take your money, your house, or any of your material belongings, but don’t ever let them take your hope. Get around people who will support and edify you and your dreams. God has great things in store for you! Never forget that. Keep your hopes up!

About Bryan Vashus

I am passionate about living a life of purpose. There is a purpose in being a husband, a father, a leader, and a person. I live in such a way as to fulfill the purpose in each area of my life. I have an amazing wife, Courtnee, who shares in this pursuit with me, two children, Hannah and Joshua, who bring immeasurable amounts of joy to my life, and two dogs, and two cats. My family is united together in building our LIFE Leadership business and ultimately reaching people with the grace and love of God everywhere we go.
This entry was posted in with hope to inspire. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Keep Your Hopes Up

  1. Courtnee Vashus says:

    Bryan, you continue to push and pull through all the negativity. You don’t let anyone slow you down, including myself and I honor you. Our circumstances have not been in our favor during most of this journey but as you said, “you can see the light at the end of the tunnel.” I promise to do better. Love better. Support better. Fight better. Believe better. “The Lord is on my side; I will not fear. What can man do to me?” (Psalm 118:6 NKJV)

Leave a Reply

