I’m Thankful

Thanksgiving is almost over and I have much to be thankful for. So why not write about it and express my thanksgiving for God’s blessings in my life? I just hope I don’t forget something that I regret later, but it’s a risk I’m willing to take.

First and foremost, I am thankful that I have a God that loves me. I am forever thankful and indebted to His Son, Jesus, who showed me and all of mankind how one should live. His compassion towards me (and all people) will never be matched. He overwhelmingly demonstrated His love towards me in that while I was still a sinner, He died for me (Romans 5:8).  And not only did He die, He rose from the grave and gave me His Spirit that I might have victory in life as well (1 Corinthians 15:57). He has a plan for my life that is good and not evil, that gives me a future and a hope (Jeremiah 29:11). Thank You God for giving me purpose!

Secondly, I am thankful for my family. I do not come from a perfect family, but I do come from a family that is committed to one another. I don’t see too many families out there that stick together as much as we do. It is a wonderful blessing to have parents and siblings that are so committed to one another.

I am thankful for my wife. God knew what He was doing when He put us together. “He who finds a wife, finds a good thing and obtains favor from the Lord.” Proverbs 18:22. Courtnee’s many strengths cover my many weaknesses. I am thankful for her patience with me. I truly am not the sharpest knife in the drawer or brightest bulb in the lamp, yet my wife keeps encouraging me and seeing the best in me, even when I don’t give her much to work with.

Unlike so many others, I can say with all sincerity that I am thankful for my in-laws and their support and love for me. They have seen me at my worst, loved me through it, and now support us in our endeavors in what may seem an “unusual” pursuit (LIFE). I truly appreciate that.

I want to spend a little extra time expressing thanks for my children. There are no others on earth quite like them. After all, they are flesh of my flesh. Courtnee’s and my blood runs through their veins. They are my offspring. They are the manifestation of the covenant I have with Courtnee. They have been specifically chosen by God to be my children. And I couldn’t be happier with who God gave us. I love my daughter and my son. They bring smiles to my face every day all day. I am thankful for my daughter’s seven-year old wit and intelligence. I love that she is compassionate and competitive. Her love of art, nature and beautiful things melts my heart. She makes me proud. And my son, who is only three, I am thankful that although he can be a typical boy in every sense, he is also tender and loving. I can already see that he truly will be a leader of many. I am thankful that he loves life as his sister does. He helps me remember what it is to be care-free, full of excitement, and in awe of life.

I cannot express enough thanks for my church family, namely my pastor, Mark Bintliff. His leadership, character, and commitment to God are second to none. The model he sets and the influence he has as a true believer allows me to have rock solid relationships with truly amazing people. I truly believe I am part of the greatest local church on the planet (as everyone should believe about their church).

Thank You, Lord, for bringing an unexpected community of people into my life as well. It began with a single person, who shared some simple concepts about business that has now turned into some of the most fulfilling relationships I could ever imagine. Most of the friendships I now have would not exist if it wasn’t for this crazy organization. And ironically, many of these people were not a part prior to my getting involved. I am so thankful, that they saw enough in me to be willing to become partners in chasing our dreams no matter where they may take us.

Along with the amazing people LIFE has and continues to bless me with, I am thankful for the vision God has placed in my heart of a life lived intentionally for excellence. I am thankful for a vehicle, a tool, a means to accomplish all that God has placed in my heart to do. You know, Lord, the things You have ordained for me to do, and You made a way for them to be accomplished.

Larry and Marsie Vanbuskirk- what else can I say to them but, “Thank you,” for their patience with me. I certainly am not naive enough to think that they traveled from Michigan to Colorado only for Courtnee and I, but over the past three years, I have certainly seen the sincerity of their hearts as they took time to meet with us, get to know us, and now mentor us. Their investment in us is greatly, greatly appreciated and not in vain.

Of course I am also thankful for having a roof over my head, a vehicle to drive, clothes to wear, warm and cold running water, a steady and increasing income, and ultimately a God who meets all my need according to His riches in glory by Christ Jesus (Philippians 4:19). Despite the concerns we may have with the future of our country, I am still thankful to live in the freest country in the world (and I am thankful for a plan through LIFE to both keep it free and restore our lost freedoms).

I am a blessed man. God’s goodness is upon me. I cannot boast but give glory to Him and be thankful. Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

 

 

 

 

 

About Bryan Vashus

I am passionate about living a life of purpose. There is a purpose in being a husband, a father, a leader, and a person. I live in such a way as to fulfill the purpose in each area of my life. I have an amazing wife, Courtnee, who shares in this pursuit with me, two children, Hannah and Joshua, who bring immeasurable amounts of joy to my life, and two dogs, and two cats. My family is united together in building our LIFE Leadership business and ultimately reaching people with the grace and love of God everywhere we go.
This entry was posted in with hope to inspire. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

