Incredible Gifts, Incredible Privilege

DSC_6414My family recently watched the movie The Odd Life of Timothy Green. It was an interesting and heart warming story of a couple’s dream of having a child coming true for a period of time. After watching the movie it was time for my children to go to bed.

We went through our usual ritual of me carrying the kiddos upstairs and then having them brush their teeth. Usually I pray with them both once they are in bed (they share a bedroom), but tonight they finished brushing their teeth at different intervals. Hannah finished first so I picked her up and held her as I prayed with and over her. As I did, I was overwhelmed with a sense of gratitude that God that of all the children in the world, past, present, and future, God gave me this girl. He gave Imageme the life of this child, to train up, to lead, to inspire, to take care of, to protect, and to guide towards her calling and purpose in life.

As I finished praying for her, my son came into the room and I picked him up and prayed for him as well. I couldn’t and didn’t want to shake the emotion of the moment. God chose these two children to be ours. It dawned on me what an incredible act of trust it is by God to put human lives into the care of others.

It’s one thing to own a house or a car or some material thing and to take care of it and maintain it and keep it from being abused, misused, broken down, or falling apart. It is DSC_6479 copyentirely different to have a child who we raise, develop, train, raise up, and shape who they become and how they live their lives. There is no greater possession one could ever be entrusted with! Objects and stuff have their place, but ultimately we do not shape them and mold them and train them and have a direct influence on what or who they become. With children we do.

If you are a parent, don’t lose sight of the fact you have been entrusted with a life. And God created that life with a purpose. Your child or children have gifts and talents and ultimately God has a perfect plan for their lives. And He has given you the amazing privilege of leading and guiding them to that end. What an awesome responsibility we have. Let’s do well with it.

About Bryan Vashus

I am passionate about living a life of purpose. There is a purpose in being a husband, a father, a leader, and a person. I live in such a way as to fulfill the purpose in each area of my life. I have an amazing wife, Courtnee, who shares in this pursuit with me, two children, Hannah and Joshua, who bring immeasurable amounts of joy to my life, and two dogs, and two cats. My family is united together in building our LIFE Leadership business and ultimately reaching people with the grace and love of God everywhere we go.
This entry was posted in with hope to inspire. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

