Unlimited Potential (Part 1)

Image

I want to revisit the idea of a person’s potential. This is something I have personally been wrestling with for nearly eight months. In my last blog I briefly discussed how I believe that there is always more to what a person can do or a greater level of influence in order to touch more lives. As I pondered my own words and continue to meditate on this idea of unlimited potential I believe I’ve gained more perspective on the idea. If you have followed my blogging journey from the beginning (which may only include my parents), you’ll obviously see a common thread throughout. My faith is the foundation of all that I do. So as I ponder these “deeper” issues of life, they are always filtered through Biblical truths and an understanding of God’s plan of redemption for mankind.

When God created mankind in the beginning, He blessed them and said, “Be fruitful and multiply; fill the earth and subdue it; have dominion over the fish of the sea, over the birds of the air, and over every living thing that moves on the earth,” (Genesis 1:27). Mankind was given ultimate authority over this planet and all that it contains. With that edict, I believe every human being has within them the potential to fulfill that original commission. And since that day, humans have been achieving amazing fetes.

Later in Genesis 11:6 we see the Lord saying, “Indeed the people are one and they all have one language, and this is what they begin to do; now nothing that they propose to do will be withheld from them.” This story has many points, but since I am simply pointing out human potential, let me summarize it this way. These people were not following God’s plan in any way. They were taking the potential that God gave them and ultimately doing their own thing. And even though they were doing things apart from God’s ultimate purpose what He says concerning the efforts of mankind is truly astounding, “Nothing they propose to do will be withheld from them.” This sounds much like what Jesus said in Mark 9:23, “If you can believe, all things are possible to him who believes.” Human beings are capable of anything!

ImageNow imagine a human being who is in covenant with the almighty God. Imagine a person who is living a life of purpose and endeavors to know his God and live according to that original edict. Imagine a person whose heart is in line with his Creator’s and ultimately wants to reach people with the love and life of God. How much could that person accomplish?

I have much studying to do, but as I consider scripture and those who pursued God with a pure and contrite heart, it seems that nothing they asked of the Lord was withheld from them. We see examples with Jabez, Enoch, Abraham, Job, the kings and prophets, leading up to the ministry of Jesus, and His apostles. It is truly awe-inspiring to read of the amazing lives of people who chose to serve God, believe Him unconditionally, and then see what they did. Signs, wonders, and miracles were done in the name of Jesus. The entire region of Asia minor was reached with the gospel in less than three years at a time when there where no vehicles, cell phones, twitter accounts, or even the modern day postal system.

I live in Colorado, only about an hour away from Aspen which is where the winter X Games are hosted each year. To watch what men and women have been able to accomplish on the snow is nothing short of remarkable. And it doesn’t end there. The fetes of mankind are truly jaw-dropping. I love to watch the incredible things people do on YouTube from time to time. (One jaw-dropping extreme sport is winged-suit base jumping. Those guys are crazy.) But how many of these people are truly trying to accomplish their God-given destiny? I don’t know, and it is not for me to judge. But I have personally known men and women that have accomplished amazing things, but did it purely out of selfish motives with no acknowledge of God whatsoever. How is that? Because, “Nothing they propose to do will be withheld from them.”

Let’s be honest. Most, if not all, people wonder from time to time why ungodly, cruel, immoral, or merciless people have achieved levels of “success” in life. I actually believe that the upper class or rich has received a bad image simply because our media only seems to portray the bad from that segment of society. That’s a point for another blog. But if people can achieve professional or financial or scientific success and not acknowledge absolute truth or not embrace love and compassion and even step on people along the way, how much more for those who do?

The world needs more compassionate, loving, honest, God-fearing people willing to tap into their unlimited God-given potential. We need people who will embrace the words of Jesus that all thingsImage are possible to them that believe and boldly declare and believe, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” We need people who are completely committed to the Call upon their lives and have the vision to see just how to maximize that Call. Everyone has this potential. It was breathed into Adam at the beginning, and that seed of blessing has been passed down through the generations to everyone born to live on this earth. And even greater than that, mankind’s spiritual authority has been restored to those who believe as well.

So where do we go from here? How does one ultimately live in such a way? How does a person of faith maximize his or her God-given potential in order to fulfill the Call on their lives? I suppose that is the million dollar question. And I believe I have at least a piece of that answer, which I will write about in my next blog. But until then, begin to dream about what it means to live in such a way as to reach more and more people. Dream about great accomplishments and fulfilling the plan God has for you. Even if you don’t know what it is, imagine what it would feel like to have absolute confidence doing exactly what you are supposed to be doing. Consider what it would feel like to be absolutely fulfilled. After all, it’s available.

Until next time, enjoy a simple video of some of the great things humans have accomplished.

About Bryan Vashus

I am passionate about living a life of purpose. There is a purpose in being a husband, a father, a leader, and a person. I live in such a way as to fulfill the purpose in each area of my life. I have an amazing wife, Courtnee, who shares in this pursuit with me, two children, Hannah and Joshua, who bring immeasurable amounts of joy to my life, and two dogs, and two cats. My family is united together in building our LIFE Leadership business and ultimately reaching people with the grace and love of God everywhere we go.
This entry was posted in with hope to inspire. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

