Unlimited Potential Part 2- Understanding the Purpose of Potential

potential-206x300I am discovering that as I write about the topic of unlimited potential I seem to have an unlimited potential of directions to write. I guess that’s what happens when you begin to realize your potential is limitless. But what does that mean? Or better yet, what does that mean to me (after all, I’m the one writing about it)? I’ve been pondering this concept or idea of unlimited potential for a number of months. And with my contemplation of the idea coupled with the understanding that we were all created for a purpose, my thoughts on the subject have expanded and taken on new ideas of what it means to have unlimited potential. I can thank my trip to Tennessee for much of this new train of thought.

When I speak of having unlimited potential, it is in the context of influencing the lives of people with truth. Most people tend to associate their potential with their talent. But talent can actually be more of a limiting factor than one that maximizes potential. To truly understand our potential, I believe one must understand their purpose. Potential is meaningless without purpose. Of course, this is not a blog about purpose but if you’d like to read more about it a good place to start is chapter one of Orrin Woodward’s book  Resolved: 13 Resolutions For LIFE or Driven By Eternity by John Bevere.

The reason understanding purpose is important is because where purpose is not known abuse is inevitable. Many people abuse their lives and the lives of others because they don’t understand their purpose on this planet. But once a person discovers and understands their God-given purpose, they then realize the purpose of their potential.

God created all people with a purpose, and that purpose is tied one hundred percent to influencing the lives of people with truth. And since God has placed within each person this potential it can be used for good or for bad.

So how does one connect their potential with their purpose? Simply put, it’s through leadership. One cannot effectively influence the lives of people without learning to be an effective leader. But this is another area where people actually become limited rather than maximized. This is due to skewed ideas of what being a leader is. And once someone learns what it means to be a leader, then one must learn the art and science of leadership as well and effectively implement it into their lives. But this is not a blog on leadership either (are you seeing how I can go in many different directions when thinking about this topic?). Check out Launching A Leadership Revolution for an extensive, detailed, and enlightening book on leadership.

Once a person realizes their God-given purpose, discovering the “how” of that purpose becomes a life-long quest. If we fully embrace the realization that we are to influence the lives of people, then we logically would hope and desire to reach more and more people. We may have some insight into how we will reach people now, but the method can change. This is where I believe people tend to pigeon-hole themselves into how to influence lives which ultimately limits their effectiveness. And this is where I will begin with Part 3 of my series (I had no idea that this would become a series) on Unlimited Potential.

As I discovered in small part while traveling to Nashville and Louisville, there is not a shortage of dreamers and passionate people who believe they have a purpose. But what I am discovering, is that there is limited thinking on how to effectively utilize our gifts, talents, and ultimately our potential in fulfilling all that we have been called to do. I just hope I’ll be able to communicate it effectively.

So until next time, let me leave you with the words of Marianne Williamson, and a video with an edited version of her words below.

Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us.’ We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, and fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There’s nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone and as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give others permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.

About Bryan Vashus

I am passionate about living a life of purpose. There is a purpose in being a husband, a father, a leader, and a person. I live in such a way as to fulfill the purpose in each area of my life. I have an amazing wife, Courtnee, who shares in this pursuit with me, two children, Hannah and Joshua, who bring immeasurable amounts of joy to my life, and two dogs, and two cats. My family is united together in building our LIFE Leadership business and ultimately reaching people with the grace and love of God everywhere we go.
This entry was posted in with hope to inspire. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

