The Plague of Que Sera Sera

If its up to me...If you have a Facebook or Twitter account I’m sure you can find yourself amazed at the various things people post or tweet. Some are random and some are specific. Some are happy and others are sad. You may find some inspirational, and I guarantee you will find some that are just plain dumb. Lately, I’ve noticed, many are political and express unhappiness with our government and the direction of our country.

So let’s talk about that. What’s going on in our country? Why have we gone from the greatest country in the world statistically speaking to barely the top ten and declining in many major categories? Economically, according to the Wall Street Journal and the Heritage Foundation, the United States ranks 10th. The highest reports that I found in a not-so-exhaustive search rank us as high as 4th, not first like we once were. According to a report by Pearson, the United States ranks 17th in education globally. And according to USA Today, 1 in 7 adults is unable to read. If you want some more specific numbers I highly recommend you visit live-courageous.com. Yes, our country is truly on a decline.

I want to offer a simple answer to the above question about what has happened to our country. There are plenty of great books and articles out there, but I want to come at this from a simpler approach. And I will call it the Plague of Que Sera Sera. Many people have used this saying, including me, which simply means, “What will be will be.” It was a famous song in the late 50’s that has permeated many people’s thinking today. The basic attitude that comes with the saying is, “Hey, whatever happens is just going to happen, so just go with the flow. Don’t have any ambition. Don’t make plans. Don’t set goals. Don’t work towards anything. Just live and let live.”

Christians have their own version that can really frustrate me if I allow it to. It doesn’t sound as cool as, “Que Sera Sera,” but it sounds much more “holy.” It goes something like this. “Just trust God. Relax. God is in control. You don’t need to do anything. Whatever happens, happens for a reason. No need to do anything anyway because God will do whatever He wants.” Perhaps that is extreme, but that is the basic attitude behind some people’s advice to just “trust God.”

Now, some reading this may subscribe to that line of thinking, but I believe it is completely off base. All people have a God-given purpose. And God has given to every human being the ability to fulfill that purpose. But it doesn’t get fulfilled unless we take action! Our country will not change unless people take action! Our families will not change unless someone in it determines to change it! Job situations, finances, health issues, everything in life, will not change for the better unless effort is applied.

This nation has become terrifyingly complacent. A group of people who Orrin Woodward calls the SFN (something for nothing) group seems to be growing at an alarming rate. These are people who want to be able to sit back and let the government, their friends, families, and anyone else take care of them, rather than taking care of themselves. They are in every walk of life. They are in churches, corporations, schools, jails, mansions, and trailer parks. As my pastor put it, they are like wasps. Unlike bees, they buzz around sucking life out of anything they can and give nothing back. Their favorite phrase as my dad used to say is , “My name is Jimmy. Gimmee, gimme gimmee.”

And you know what, I’m not okay with it. But there is hope. Why is there hope? Because I used to be one. Years ago I received a Publisher’s Clearing House Sweepstakes in the mail. I filled the paperwork out and sent it in. They actually gave me a date that the check would be delivered to insure I’d be home, just in case I was the winner. I took a day off of work to stay home hoping and praying I’d be the one. After all, someone is going to win it, why not me?

The moment, though, I truly realized that I was a “SFN’er” was when I investigated the new compensation plan for my new business. When the business of LIFE launched November 1, 2011, I was super excited. I was just certain that they would have created the greatest compensation plan ever (which they did). But my version would have caused me to be making thousands of dollars right out of the starting blocks without me having to do much work. I remember being shocked at myself for being disappointed that I was going to have to earn my pay. It was a bizarre experience. It was as though I was outside of my body looking at some poor sap that didn’t understand the value of working hard and smart to create a pipeline, residual income. I wanted something for nothing.

Life is What You Make Happen Man Chooses Proactive InitiativeYet, it is with this amazing opportunity known as the LIFE business that God is meeting my needs. I am learning the value of changing the way I think. I am learning that finances follow certain rules and if I am ignorant of those rules I will pay a steep price (already been through a bankruptcy). I am learning that the process of earning victories truly are more important than the victories themselves. My integrity and character are being formed, and I’m learning what it actually means to be a man of principle. And because of this process of LIFE, I am becoming a man who is and will continue to affect change in my community, state, and nation.

So this is a call out to any and all that would desire to leave the couch of complacency and enter into the arena of results. Our nation needs people of action. Our nation needs leaders. Our nation needs people willing to take responsibility for the results in their lives and the lives of others by becoming people of character and purpose. I challenge you to check out the LIFE business and embrace the journey that it provides. No longer should our mantra be “Que Sera Sera, what will be will be.” Now it’s, “If it’s to be, it’s up to me.”

About Bryan Vashus

I am passionate about living a life of purpose. There is a purpose in being a husband, a father, a leader, and a person. I live in such a way as to fulfill the purpose in each area of my life. I have an amazing wife, Courtnee, who shares in this pursuit with me, two children, Hannah and Joshua, who bring immeasurable amounts of joy to my life, and two dogs, and two cats. My family is united together in building our LIFE Leadership business and ultimately reaching people with the grace and love of God everywhere we go.
This entry was posted in with hope to inspire. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Plague of Que Sera Sera

  1. Pingback: Go Beyond Being Thankful | The Journey Of A LIFEtime

Leave a Reply

