What Are You Called To?

missed my callingI am not called to an occupation. I am called to reach people.

As long as I can remember, deep down I’ve known that my purpose on the this earth is to have a positive influence on people. As a child into adulthood, I’ve often found myself in roles of leadership whether amongst my friends, church, work, school, college, sports, and even recreation. I’ve been responsible for creating various programs throughout my lifetime including sports teams, clubs in college, ministries in my church, and social gatherings. I’ve been a teacher and coach of various sports and various age groups. I think I was drawn to working as a recreation director because it involved implementing different sports, activities, and programs for differing groups of people. In all these things, my greatest desire has been that they added value in the lives of those involved.

Occasionally I come across people whom with I share the LIFE business that will say they like the concept of LIFE, but are not called to it. This, of course, started me thinking.

I did a short study of what it means to be “called” in the Bible. And despite hundreds of references to the words “called” and “calling,” I cannot find a single instance of someone being called to an occupation or a job. The closest reference in the New Testament is that of Paul saying he was called to be an apostle. While an apostle, Paul made tents for an income, but he wasn’t called to make tents. He was called to be an apostle. Making tents was simply a tool to help him be a more effective apostle. And when you think about it, what is an apostle called to? He is called to reach people.

So what are people ultimately called to? I believe people are called to people. The means used to reach people is simply a matter of utilizing our God-given talents and ultimately wisdom. Of course, I’m not denying that there are positions that God has specifically ordained people to fulfill. Paul was ordained and appointed by God to be an apostle. So should be any pastor or leader within the church. But ultimately, most people are not called to the ministry. But all are called to influence people.

I am not “called” to build the LIFE business. I am called to impact the lives of people. But by prayer and seeking answers based on truth, I have received wisdom on how to maximize the purpose or calling on my life. In my search for answers I realized that the LIFE business was and is the greatest tool available to those desiring to positively impact the lives of people, all the while being compensated for it.

I honestly believe most people are not “called” to their current occupations. And if they are, many may be in trouble because they keep jumping from occupation to occupation. Ultimately, though, that is not for me to determine. But, just as a builder in this day and time chooses to use a nail gun and other power operated tools, rather than hammers, screwdrivers, and wrenches, to build a house, so too will a person with “eyes to see,” use the LIFE business to maximize their calling. The added bonus is that it too will help meet our needs and cause us to live the lives we’ve always wanted.

live out my callingSo what are you called to? Are you called to live paycheck to paycheck? Are you called to your job, or are you called to the people at your job? Are you called to greater heights? Are you called to live in debt the rest of your life? Or are you called to give abundantly to those in need? Are you called to bounce from job to job to job? Are you called to make a difference in the lives of a few people, or in the lives of as many people as possible?

I challenge you to ask the question with faith that you will receive the answer. And maybe, just maybe, you will discover as I did, that LIFE is the tool to help you fulfill your calling.

About Bryan Vashus

I am passionate about living a life of purpose. There is a purpose in being a husband, a father, a leader, and a person. I live in such a way as to fulfill the purpose in each area of my life. I have an amazing wife, Courtnee, who shares in this pursuit with me, two children, Hannah and Joshua, who bring immeasurable amounts of joy to my life, and two dogs, and two cats. My family is united together in building our LIFE Leadership business and ultimately reaching people with the grace and love of God everywhere we go.
This entry was posted in with hope to inspire. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

