Jessica Says, “Write down your dreams.”

There are many reasons I love being involved with the LIFE business. I’ve seen marriages restored and strengthened. I’ve seen people get their health back. I’ve witnessed men rise up and fulfill their God-given leadership roles in their families. Women have discovered the power of their words and learned how to effectively use them in their homes. Many have discovered what it truly means to have faith, and others have been educated about our nation’s freedoms, past, present, and how to restore and keep them for the future.

Recently, one of my teammates who is a young woman named Jessica wrote the following and posted it on Facebook. This is another example of the types of transformations that take place in the lives of those who become actively involved with the LIFE business. I asked for her permission to use it, because I believe it is powerful. Here is a young adult discovering falling in love with learning, after high school! She is a hungry student, a voracious reader, and an up-and-coming leader within the LIFE business. Take it away Jessica.

ImageSo I am browsing the internet and come across this name, John Goddard. Now I don’t know about you, but truthfully I never heard of him before, but after reading his biography I wish I had heard of him in school or something. To think that at 15 years old all the goals that he wrote down, and then how many he has accomplished since then. It goes to show writing down goals and making a commitment to them is so much better than thinking up goals and leaving it at that. If you don’t write them down they get no where.

I found this on a Yahoo answer. “The graduating class of Harvard Business School in 1948 was asked to write their personal goals. Only 4 out of the 100 students actually wrote out their dreams. Another 10 had identified their dreams, but did not write them down. All of them, of course, got jobs with good companies.

But during a follow-up, they were interviewed 20 years later. What is amazing is that the net worth of those four with written dreams was more than all the 96 COMBINED! This gives us a powerful reason for following our written goals/dreams.”

In the past 7 months I have been building my Dreams/Goals list. I have also been working towards those dreams, and it is amazing how far I myself have come in 7 months just by a simple list of dreams and goals.

When I was in high school we were told to write down 50 goals, put it in an envelope, and we’d get it back at the end of the year or the end of high school, so yay? I guess that is a start, but at the same time shouldn’t we hold onto that list, so it reminds us of where we want to be? If we don’t keep the list and build on it and change it, adjust it, follow it, then it is as if we are just saying it and then forgetting it. I wrote down my 50 in school. I got it back and realized I accomplished none of those goals because I had forgotten about them.

You know what? It doesn’t take that long to write out a few goals. Where do you want to be in five years, What do you want to have accomplished in those 5 years? 10 years? 20 years? What are your dreams and goals? Write them down. Share them or keep them to yourself, but know them. Remember them. Don’t hide them or store them away for later. Keep them with you. Read them everyday and revise them once a week. Add onto them. Dream and make goals. You are never too young or too old. It is never too late to start “living the life you have always wanted” (And yes that last line there is from the business I am in :p).

About Bryan Vashus

I am passionate about living a life of purpose. There is a purpose in being a husband, a father, a leader, and a person. I live in such a way as to fulfill the purpose in each area of my life. I have an amazing wife, Courtnee, who shares in this pursuit with me, two children, Hannah and Joshua, who bring immeasurable amounts of joy to my life, and two dogs, and two cats. My family is united together in building our LIFE Leadership business and ultimately reaching people with the grace and love of God everywhere we go.
This entry was posted in with hope to inspire. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

