Simple Smiles

ImageNearly everyday a UPS truck drives by delivering its packages to the neighbors in our cul-de-sac and occasionally us. Without fail, if our dogs are outside in the yard he stops and tosses them some doggie treats. He has been so faithful that our dogs, before they can even see the truck, recognize the sound of the vehicle and run to the window or fence to greet their trusted treat deliverer. If they are inside, we quickly let them outside. I appreciate what this man does, and every time he does it I smile.

Watching this again today prompted me to think of other simple things that bring a smile to my face. In no particular order and certainly not all-inclusive, here are some additional every day moments that create for me simple smiles:

  • The sound of children’s innocent and joyful laughter
  • The funny role-playing that young children engage in while playing
  • Our five-year old boxer, Barnum, when he chases his nub of a tail
  • Notes left out for me when I come home late after an appointment
  • The peaceful look on my children’s faces as the sleep
  • Moments when people truly open up and share hearts and deepest dreams
  • Thinking of people and the changes they’ve made and are making to become better
  • The excitement and thrill a child demonstrates in learning something new
  • When my wife says she is proud of me
  • When my children say they love me
  • Reflecting on all the things I have to be thankful for
  • Meeting and getting to know new people
  • Newly bloomed spring flowers
  • Seeing new found hope well up inside a person
  • Dreaming of my future

There are more, but rather than bore you with my “smiley moments” how about sharing your smiley moments that you engage in from time to time throughout your day? I’m sure that I, and other readers, would love to hear what makes you smile too.

About Bryan Vashus

I am passionate about living a life of purpose. There is a purpose in being a husband, a father, a leader, and a person. I live in such a way as to fulfill the purpose in each area of my life. I have an amazing wife, Courtnee, who shares in this pursuit with me, two children, Hannah and Joshua, who bring immeasurable amounts of joy to my life, and two dogs, and two cats. My family is united together in building our LIFE Leadership business and ultimately reaching people with the grace and love of God everywhere we go.
This entry was posted in to crack a smile or even a laugh, with hope to inspire. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

