Life on Purpose

purpose-drivenLet me cut to the chase on this. Why are you here? Why are you on this planet? What are you living for? Self? Pleasure? Entertainment? Addictions? Family? Money? What? What are you living for?

D.L. Moody said, “Our greatest fear should not be that we won’t succeed but that we will succeed at something that doesn’t matter.” Are you living for something that matters? Are you pursuing success for the right reasons? Where is your heart? What does it seek? What do you think about? And ultimately, what do your decisions in life show the world what you are living for?

I’ve been in a bit of a funk as of late. And I’m actually thankful for it. For whatever reason, when I do find myself down a bit, I tend to think more deeply. I’m drawn more to God. (perhaps that’s why I’m in a funk. I haven’t been spending enough time with Him). I begin to evaluate myself, my decisions, and the results in my life. When I speak of results, I’m speaking of far more than financial gain (as most people default to). I’m speaking of my relationships, spiritual growth and relationship with God, my attitudes, actions, and decisions, and ultimately, how many people I am leading to the truth.

Jesus said to seek first the kingdom of God (rule, dominion, and God’s way of doing things) and all of the material things like clothing, food, provision for our lives would be added to us. The apostle Paul said to set our minds on things above where Christ is. He also said to think on things that are just, pure, lovely, are of good report, have virtue, and are praiseworthy.

What have you been thinking about? What wakes you up in the middle of the night? Are your thoughts consumed with financial matters, what you’re going to do on the weekend, food, the internet, the opposite sex, the negative in your life, or even just the temporal things that this world has to offer? What are you thinking about?

Or perhaps you’re thinking about your purpose. How are you going to influence people with truth. How can you fund that ministry God put on your heart to support. Perhaps He commissioned you to go to other nations or to the neighbor next door. Perhaps He is leading you to serve in a certain capacity in your local church. Maybe you find yourself thinking about how to raise your kids according to God’s ways and are ever seeking wisdom for that, or your marriage, or your business relationships. Are you thinking about how you are being a light everywhere you go? Do you find yourself asking what is your purpose?

I once heard a quote that goes something like this. Is there enough evidence in your life that you could be prosecuted in a court of law that you are a Christian? What if your life could only be seen and not heard? People would only know you by what they saw you doing. Would your life look like one lived on purpose or lived on pleasure? Would they see you laying on your couch watching TV programs that do not reflect your purpose, or would they see you serving and helping people? Would they see you on Facebook more than reading your Bible? Would they see you going to church or the movies? What would they see? Would they see you praying or just playing? Would they see someone broken and sad, or joyful and glad? Smiles or tears? Anger or peace? Depression or laughter? What would they see?

The apostle James said he shows his faith (beliefs) by his works. What do your works reveal about what you believe?

These are the questions I ask myself. And how I answer them will determine where I’m at five, ten, twenty years from now.

The only place we can find true fulfillment is in a deep, personal, walking, talking, living, breathing relationship with God Almighty that comes through the death, burial, and resurrection of Jesus Christ His Son. My greatest aim is to know God more deeply and to have fellowship with Him.

I have changes I need to make.

I have growing to do.

And by the empowering grace of God, I can fully live my life on purpose.

 

 

About Bryan Vashus

I am passionate about living a life of purpose. There is a purpose in being a husband, a father, a leader, and a person. I live in such a way as to fulfill the purpose in each area of my life. I have an amazing wife, Courtnee, who shares in this pursuit with me, two children, Hannah and Joshua, who bring immeasurable amounts of joy to my life, and two dogs, and two cats. My family is united together in building our LIFE Leadership business and ultimately reaching people with the grace and love of God everywhere we go.
This entry was posted in with hope to inspire. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

